Raff: La fileuse [The Spinner] (1870)

• Piano solo. 3′

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2007

Download a zipped PDF of the score.

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

Published 1871 by Sietz (Leipzig)

Joseph Joachim Raff , 1822/05/27 (Lachen, Lake of Zurich)‒1882/06/25 (Frankfurt-am-Main). Eminent composer in the field of programmatic romanticism. Self-taught in composition and violin, when 20 or 21 he sent some compositions to Mendlessohn, who recommended them to a publisher. Incredibly prolific but uneven. Composed 11 symphonies, 4 suites, 9 overtures, cantatas, oratorios, operas, 9 concertos, chamber music, vocal and choral music, paraphrases, etc.

Creative Commons License
This Edition of Joachim Raff’s La fileuse [The Spinner] by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien