Farrenc: Nonet Op. 38 (ca. 1849)

• Flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, violin, viola, violoncello, contrabass. 27′

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2020

Download a zipped PDF of the score and parts.

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

From a manuscript located in the Bibliothèque nationale de France, available from IMSLP.

Louise Farrenc (née Dumont) , 1804‒1875 (Paris). Piano student of Soria, Mosheles, and Hummel; studied composition with Reicha. Professor of Piano, Paris Conservatory, 1842-1872. The Nonet was not published during her lifetime, although there are references to a late-19th century edition.

Creative Commons License
This Edition of Louise Farrenc’s Nonet Op. 38 by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien