Grund: Quintet, piano and winds, Op. 8 (ca. 1816)

• Piano, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn. 28′

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2021

Download a zipped PDF of the score and parts.


[Also available: The composer’s original arrangement for piano and strings]

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

Previously published by C. F. Peters (Leipzig), ca. 1816.

Friedrich Wilhelm Grund , of Hamburg, 1791/10/07‒1874/11/24. An early career as a concert virtuoso ended because of nerve damage in his right hand and he became a composer, conductor, and teacher. Co-founder of the Gesellschaft der Freunde des religiösen Gesangs (later the Hamburger Singakademie) and the Hamburger Tonkünstlervereins, for 34 years he led the Philharmonische Gesellschaft. Composer of chamber music, serveral cantatas, an oratorio, at least three operas, and several smaller works.

Creative Commons License
This Edition of F. W. Grund’s Quintet for piano and winds, Op. 8 by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien