Kaun: Octet, Op. 34 (ca. 1891)

• Clarinet, bassoon, horn, 2 violins, viola, violoncello, contrabass. 18′

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2021

Download a zipped PDF of the score and parts.

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

Previously published by Kaun & Bluemel Music Co. (Milwaukee), ca. 1891

Hugo Kaun , 1863/03/21 (Berlin)‒1932/04/02 (Berlin). German composer, conductor, and music teacher. Studied music in Berlin at the Königlichen Hochschule für Musik. He was expelled for repeatedly skipping classes. In 1887, he left for America, settling in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and teaching at the local conservatory. He was founder and conductor of the Milwaukee Liederkrantz as well as the head of the Northwestern Singing Association's festival days. In 1901, he returned to Berlin and had positions at the Königliche akademie der Künste and the Klindworth-Scharwenka Conservatory. Wrote three symphonies, two piano concertos, operas, symphonic poems, choral music, and piano pieces.

Creative Commons License
This Edition of Hugo Kaun’s Octet, Op. 34 by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien