Moscheles: Grand Septet Op. 88 (1833)

• Piano, violin, viola, violoncello, bass, clarinet (or vln II), horn (or vla II). 27′

[The clarinet and horn parts may be replaced by a second violin and a second viola, as indicated in the original editions.
These parts are not exact duplicates of the wind parts and should only be used together.]

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2022

Download a zipped PDF of the score and parts.

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

Drawn from two editions, one by Maurice Schlesinger (Paris), 1834, the other by Fr. Kistner (Leipzig), 1835.

Ignaz Moscheles , 1794/05/30 (Prague)‒1870/03/10 (Leipzig). Student of Albrechtberger and Salieri, at the age of 20 he was chosen to prepare the piano-score of Fidelio under Beethoven’s supervision. Concert pianist, a contemporary and rival of Hummel, Kalkbrenner, and Meyerbeer; an early teacher of Mendelssohn. After living in London for over twenty years, he moved to Leipzig, at Mendelssohn’s urging, to join the faculty of the Leipzig Conservatory. Composed much music for piano, both alone and with other instruments, along with a symphony and several lieder.

Creative Commons License
This Edition of Ignaz Moscheles’ Grand Septet, Op. 88 by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien