Seyfried: Tantum ergo (ca. 1840)

• SATB choir, a cappella. [Latin] 1½′

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2015

Download a zipped PDF of the score.

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

Previously published, 1842, by J. P. Spehr, Braunschweig.

Ignaz von Seyfried, 1776/08/15 (Vienna)‒1841/08/27 (Vienna). Conductor and dramatic composer. Studied with Mozart and Albrechtsberger. Musical Director of Vienna’s Theater auf der Wieden and its successor, the Theater an der Wien, from 1797 to 1826. Of his musical works, the Grove Dictionary says, “his versatility won him a unique place in Vienna’s musical life; however, almost none of his music is marked by real originality or distinction.”

Tantum ergo Sacramentum
Veneremur cernui:
Et antiquum documentum
Novo ceday ritui:…

—Thomas Aquinas, ca. 1264

Creative Commons License
This Edition of Ignaz von Seyfried’s Tantum ergo by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien