Thalberg: Andante Op. 32 (ca. 1856)

• Piano solo. 4½′

Edited by Dean Crocker, 2008

Download a zipped PDF of the score.

To the best of my knowledge, this music is in the public domain in the United States of America. I can not guarantee it to be in the public domain elsewhere. This music is not intended for distribution in any jurisdiction where it is not in the public domain. If you live in an area where this music is still protected under your copyright law, please do not download it!

Previously published by Henry Talman & Co., Boston (1856)

Sigismund Thalberg , 1812/01/07 (Geneva)‒1871/04/27 (Naples). Piano-virtuoso and composer; pupil of Hummel and Sechter, but most instruction came from a bassoonist named Mittag. He wrote a piano concerto at the age of 18 and toured Germany. He originated the subsequently abused technique of dividing a central melody between the thumbs, with arpeggiated accompaniment cascading around it. He was reknowned for his legato effects and ’singing’ tone: Liszt said, “Thalberg is the only artist who can play the violin on the keyboard.”

Creative Commons License
This Edition of Sigismund Thalberg’s Andante Op. 32 by Dean Crocker is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at

Photo of Dean in Wien